Lemon Exfoliating Face Scrub Recipe – My favorite DIY for your face!

lemon face scrub recipe
I tried out a new recipe this past weekend. This one was for a lemon face scrub from over at craftberry bush. If you want to make this too I would head over there (I linked to the recipe on her site). She has a good amount of information and details on how to make it. Here is the original recipe:
Here’s what I did:
1 cup of baking soda
1/2 cup of coconut oil
1 teaspoon lemon zest
A few drops Lavender essential oil
It was super easy to make. The scrub only takes about five minutes to make, is completely natural, and very inexpensive. The coconut oil is going to be your most expensive  item (it cost me $2.50 for the amount used in this recipe). If you want to make homemade beauty products it is well worth the investment, and it is still cheaper than buying this sort of scrub at the store.
I would compare this scrub to microdermabrasion. I used the baking soda version (great for sensitive skin!) which came out to be a little softer than the Mary Kay brand microdermabrasion. I like it because I can use it everyday. If I wanted something more exfoliating I would just through some sugar in this mix. I haven’t tried adding sugar yet.
How did it hold up? It is now my favorite face wash by far. I have tried tons (Proactive, Mary Kay, Cetaphil, St. Ives, generic brands, etc.). My skin is really sensitive right now.  I had a breakout a before trying this (pregnancy hormones, ugh). This recipe worked wonders on my skin. Skin tone, complexion, and pores all improved. I usually have either dry or oily skin and this has the perfect balance for me.
I was also surprised by an added bonus. The coconut oil in this acts as a moisturizer! You can tell your face is moisturized afterwards. I only used about  fourth of my normal moisturizer and was good to go. Some people may not even need to use it.
Yay for discovering awesome things that actually work!
7 thoughts on “Lemon Exfoliating Face Scrub Recipe – My favorite DIY for your face!

    • I am not sure. It would probably be great if you have oily skin. I would dilute it first and then make a small amount just to try it. It might be too strong if you have sensitive skin. Let me know how it turns out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

