Five Minute Smoothie – Including Cleanup!

easy smoothie recipe

I am currently taking Child Nutrition and Cooking from Stanford through Coursera.  I love this class. Anyone who has kids and wants to start cooking at home should at least look at it.  Here’s the link if you want to check it out. I’ve taken a few classes through them and this is my favorite by far.

Anyways one of the first recipes they teach you is a super simple smoothie. It takes less than five minutes to make including cleanup. I think it could take less than one minute if you had the berries already washed. I could never get the consistency right on my smoothies before, but using this as the base (or whole recipe) it has always turned out well. The first time I made it I gave my two-year old daughter some and she said “Mmm, thanks mom! Good kissem.” Kissem means ice cream if you don’t speak two-year old.

Here’s how to make it, along with my exact and precise measurements.

  • One handful of strawberries
  • One handful of raspberries
  • One handful of blueberries
  • Three large spoonfuls of vanilla greek yogurt, or plain greek yogurt with a bit of honey
  • A splash of milk

The strawberries I use are fresh but the blueberries and raspberries are frozen. Just because strawberries are much cheaper fresh in my area while blueberries and raspberries are less expensive frozen. Frozen berries also chill your smoothie when you make it so it’s nice and cold.

To clean up put a bit of soap in your blender and rinse it out. Do yourself a favor and clean it right away. The first time I made this I left it in the fridge (I made too much) and it was a pain to clean out later. Tweak this recipe using your favorite yogurt and the berries you have available. You can use whatever kind of milk you’d like too. This base gives you the start to a great textured smoothie.

 

Happy smoothie making! =D

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Smoothie – Including Cleanup!

  1. Smoothies are a life saver for people who are short on cash and time and need something nutritious. Add a scoop of protein powder and you’ve gone from ‘delicious and nutritious for children and adults’ to ‘packed for workout recovery’. They’re so great!

      • I find that social pressure makes it too easy to eat poorly. Barring the ridiculous amount of money one has to spend if they want to eat healthy, time and space issues also contribute to ‘on the go’ food. There’s health(ier) ‘on the go’ food but surprisingly a lot is not as healthy as it looks! It’s really unfortunate.

        Nice blog, btw. 🙂

      • Very true. Sometimes I pick up something because it’s healthy only to find a list of thirty plus ingredients in it when there should only be a few.

        Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

