Everything. In a post.

Tons of things have been going on since I last wrote. I am super excited to share them with you!

First thing’s first

Food

I completed Child Nutrition and Cooking from Stanford’s School of Medicine. It was the greatest, most applicable, advice about cooking I have ever had. The instructor (Maya Adam) was great and made the class personal, which can be hard to do with large-scale online courses. I hope to be posting some of the recipes here soon. May family’s eating has been much healthier since taking this class. I am very excited to see something have positively impact us.

The class I am taking right now is Nutrition for Health Promotion and Disease Prevention from University of California, San Francisco. It is also very good. It is more clinical and less personal as it aimed towards healthcare professionals as well as individuals.

Relationships

I am reading The Resolution for Women. It has been eye-opening about learning to enjoy life. I am so focused on what’s next that sometimes someone needs to smack me and say “take a look around, you have a great life.” I admit learning to be thankful and enjoy the little things is harder than I thought it would be. I am about halfway through the book. So good so far.

Home

The garden is growing beautifully. We planted later than intended, but I think we should still have some good outcomes. We put two raised beds and was going to do some intensive or square foot gardening (here’s a wiki link. But opted to start out with some peppers, tomatoes, squash, and lettuce, to keep things simple.

We are working on getting rid of stuff. Lots of stuff. It has helped a lot in keeping things organized and freeing up some time. Preparing for little one number two is gaining some momentum now.

Nerdom

I have been playing around with 3ds max to try to learn some 3d modeling. I just have a 30 day trial (no way I am going to spend $3-4,000 on a program at this point in my life). It makes the most intense Photoshop look like a walk in the park. Not sure if I can pick up this skill in 30 days, but am enjoying the process. At this point all I have is a little creature that looks halfway between a muppet and a furby, which is a big improvement. When I started a friend looked at my computer screen and asked why I was looking at a syphilis virus. So…yeah… really big improvement.

Fitness

Unfortunately being 33 weeks pregnant takes a toll on your body. When rolling over in bed a night is getting harder I have limited myself to stretching and chasing around my two-year old. Looking to build a routine soon for after the baby comes so I don’t have to think about it when it’s time, just do it. I have gotten some inspiration from Briana at Bikini Body Mommy, as well as from Tim at the Four Hour Body.

My husband started MMA training this week (a nice break from focusing on gearing up to start school for engineering). I almost want to train with him when I  recover from having a baby just because of how bad ass it is. Honestly, the biggest thing hindering me is being a new “house-wife” who has bruises (possibly black eyes) and such. I think people would start to suspect things.

Alright, that’s all the happenings I can think of as of now. I have a couple how-to’s in the works that are awesome and hope to be sharing some soon. 🙂

Love begins at home, and it is not how much we do... but how much love we put in that action. Mother Teresa

One thought on “Everything. In a post.

Leave a Reply

